Show/Hide

Annual Food for Fines: Saturday, December 9 through Friday, December 15, 2017

Databases A to Z

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  U  W  Z

Thousand Oaks Library Database Tutorials onyoutube-logo

  Library card is required from home     Available only in Library      Web Resources 

A

Search local, state and national full-text articles on issues, events, business, government, health and more with over 1,400 news sources, newspapers, videos, newswires, and web-only content including the Daily News (10/1/85-Current), Ventura County Star (1997-Current), and USA Today (7/1/87-Current).

search tips
how to video
find a topic


Ancestry Library Edition Available everywhere with a library card
Genealogy resource search tips

Artemis: Literary Sources Available everywhere with a library card
See Gale Literary Sources Tutorial

B

Biography in Context (Gale) Available anywhere with a library card
More than 440,000 biographies of authors, scientists, musicians, world leaders...

Available everywhere with a library card
Discover our favorite books and apps matched to your child's age and interests.  

BiblioBoard provides eBooks and other multi-media content. Check out the Self-e publishing service for local authors. For details please visit eBooks & More page.
 

Available everywhere with a library card

Classic video storybooks for beginning readers...with read-aloud, educational games and activities.

 

Available everywhere with a library card 
Select from 21 monthly newsletters to receive via email or RSS feeds.  
Available everywhere with a library card
Great resource for life-long learners with live one-on-one help on taking the GED, Microsoft Office Suite and preparing for the US Citizenship Test. Submit your resume online to have your resume critiqued and edited within 24 hours.  

Available everywhere with a library card
Online tutor service available daily from 1 p.m. to 10 p.m. (Grade 3 and up).  

Available everywhere with a library card
American history from 1493 to the present including original speeches, poems, interviews and writings of more than 1,500 influential authors in multiple formats. Topics include American democracy, education, business and labor, and the arts.
For students K-8, includes thousands of images, videos, and statistics to research virtually any topic. Other resources include research guides, learning activities for English & language arts, the sciences, the Social Sciences, timelines on various topics, and an online dictionary and thesaurus.

Available everywhere with a library card
The classic encyclopedia, recreated online with content including animation, sound files, video clips, daily updates, and content from current periodicals.  
Research sources for young adults include three databases, thousands of curated articles and magazines, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, and recommended websites, along with a pop-up Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary and Thesaurus.

Business Insights: Essentials Available everywhere with a library card
15 min. delayed stock reporting, financial analyst reports, market research reports, including public, private and international companies as well as extensive industry information with S.W.O.T. Analysis.

C

California Driving Tests
Access to car, motorcycle, and commercial driver's license practice tests and online manuals in English and Spanish.

Children's eBooks Available everywhere with a library card
Illustrated reference ebooks for children on on a virtual bookshelf.

Available everywhere with a library card
Model coverage includes 360 models from 2013 and 231 models from 2014, with a total of more than 17,000 models covered in Chilton's, dating back to 1940. (Best view in IE and Chrome)
 

Country Studies Recommended Web Resources
Published by Library of Congress, Country Studies offers previously published Country Studies/Area Handbooks and more up-to-date Country Profiles on select countries. This series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.  

Credo Reference Available everywhere with a library card
Includes full-text and cross-reference access to hundreds of reference works and articles. Credo is a general reference resource covering every major subject including art, business, geography, history and more. Topic pages are good starting points for any research project.
 

D

Dictionary of Literary Biography Available everywhere with a library card
Comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics with profiles of more than 143, 000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers and playwrights. See Gale Literary Sources
  search tips

E

eLibrary Available everywhere with a library card
Books, magazines, pictures, maps audio/video, and transcripts.   search tips

Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
Focus on information from numerous fields of knowledge relevant to the study of environmental issues, including biology, geology, anthropology, demographics, genetics, and engineering, and explains the interrelationships of these issues in easily understood terms.

F

Foundation Directory Online
(Available only at  Grant R. Brimhall Library. See a librarian for access.)
Available only in library
Grants and foundations  

G

Gale Courses Available everywhere with a library card
Gale Courses offers a wide range of interactive courses that can be taken entirely over the Internet. All courses are free and led by expert instructors. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month. (5 free courses per calendar year) Tutorial

Gale Directory Library Available everywhere with a library card
Provides access to a variety of business related reference books electronically, such as: Ward's Business Directory, Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans, Business Rankings Annual and Market Share Reporter.  Guided Tour

Gale Educational and Homework Gateway Available everywhere with a library card
The Educational and Homework Gateway is a collection of online databases from a variety of publishers and selected electronic books (eBooks) drawn from the Gale Virtual Reference Library.  

Available everywhere with a library card
Gale Genealogy Connect features a wide range of comprehensive references and is powered by authoritative information from Genealogical.com.  

Gale Literary Sources Available everywhere with a library card
Search Dictionary of Literature Biography, Literature Resource Center, Literary Criticism Online, Something About the Author Online, Twayne's Authors Series and Scribner Writers Series all at once to access primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. Tutorial

Available everywhere with a library card
Offers authoritative full-text reference titles from Gale and other premier publishing partners. Special features include: on-demand machine-aided content translations into 14 languages and text-to-speech technology in 19 languages.  Search Tips

General OneFile (Gale) Available everywhere with a library card
Full-text articles from magazines, journals and scholarly publications.   Search Tips

H

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module Available everywhere with a library card
Consumer health reference covering topics such as nutrition and medical tests, including access to PDR Family Guide to Prescription Drugs and PDR for Herbal Medicines.  Guided Tour

HeritageQuest Online Available everywhere with a library card
Genealogy collection of family and local histories.  search tips

Available everywhere with a library card
Online eBooks for higher school and college students search tips

Available everywhere with a library card
See BrainFuse HelpNow!

J

Job & Career Accelerator Available everywhere with a library card
Access current job listings in the community. Create professional resumes and cover letters, master interviewing and networking techniques, and more.
Live Job Coaching, Resume Assistance, and more... Live JobNow Coaches are available every day of the week, including weekends, from 1:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. FAQ

K

Kanopy Available everywhere with a library card
A streaming video service offering more than 26,000 films. It includes award-winning documentary and feature films, with titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, and more. For details please visit eBooks & More page.

L

Citizenship, high school entrance exam (GED), AP exams, job skills, resume and interview skills... also includes computer training modules on Office suites and Win/Mac Operating systems training.  

Consumer legal reference books from NOLO Press, including printable legal forms.  search tips

Include 3 reference series: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism. See Gale Literary Sources
  search tips

Literature Resource Center Available everywhere with a library card
Literary criticisms, literary biographies. See Gale Literary Sources
 search tips

Local News Index Available everywhere with a library card 
Local newspapers indexed by Thousand Oaks Librarians, including obituaries.  

Los Angeles Times (1881- current) Available everywhere with a library card
Full-text articles published in L.A. Times beginning 1881 to current.

Lynda.com Available everywhere with a library card
Acquire new skills, learn new business, creative, and tech skills with expert-led online video tutorials anytime, anywhere. Follow the link above to log in with a valid Thousand Oaks Library card number and PIN in the Library or remotely. The Lynda.com app is available for free download. Lynda.com Help

M

Morningstar Investment Research Center Available everywhere with a library card
Stock, mutual funds, company info, industry info...
Investing for the Long Run - A free guide with strategies and solutions to help you shape up your personal finances. 119 pages [PDF]
User's guide

N

New Book AlertsAvailable everywhere with a library card
A free online email notification service that showcases the newest titles purchase by the library.  

Access to NYTimes.com articles published between 1851-1922 and 1981- current. Full access to International, Chinese and Spanish editions of the New York Times Online.


Nolo Press (see Small Business Reference Center or Legal Information Reference Center) Available everywhere with a library card
Small Business Reference Center and Legal Information Referece Center provides access to selected popular titles published by the Nolo Press. For specific titles, please search the library's catalog.  

Novelist Available everywhere with a library card
Reading suggestions with summaries.  search tips

Reading suggestions for young readers. search tips

O

OneClickdigital Available everywhere with a library card
See RBdigital eAudiobooks   

Available everywhere with a library card
Join one or more book clubs and receive 5-minute selection from a chapter of a book each day, Monday  through Friday.  

Opposing Viewpoints Available everywhere with a library card
Full-text articles, including statistical charts, government data on social issues.  

Download free bestseller eBooks and eAudiobooks onto your computer, e-reader device or portable MP3 player, including iPods and iPads. For details please visit eBooks & More page.
help guide

P

Available everywhere with a library card
An easy-to-use online tool that allows you to create professional quality versions of your book in ePUB, MOBI, PDF and more — all through your library. For details please visit eBooks & More page.
user guide

Available everywhere with a library card
Instant access to 4,000 plus newspapers from 100 countries in 60 languages. For details please visit eBooks & More page.
tutorial

R

RBdigital eAudiobooks Available everywhere with a library card
A new platform for downloadable audiobooks by Recorded Books, Inc. Compatible with iPod and most media players. For details please visit eBooks & More page.  new user video

RBdigital Magazines Available everywhere with a library card
Download eMagazines through a Web browser or on mobile apps. For details please visit eBooks & More page.  new user video

Reference USA Available everywhere with a library card
Business and residential telephone directory and basic company information. tutorial

Rosetta Stone Available everywhere with a library card
Choose from 30 languages including K-12 Teacher’s Resources for English (K-12) and Spanish learners. Teacher Resources are included. Watch "Get Started in Under Six Minutes" video.

mobile app instructions

S

Salem History Available everywhere with a library card
Includes Decades series, Great Lives from History series, and Great Events from History.
Curriculum focused full-text articles on key topics, with ideas for science experiments
Includes curriculum-driven resources, interactive features, and an easy to use interface for students in grades 4 through 9. Read information about science topics, watch videos, create projects, take quizzes and more. 
Includes concise essays, citations, and biographical information. See Gale Literary Sources
Provides up-to-date information on starting, operating and managing a business. Includes access to the popular NOLO Press business publications.  search tips

Illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators. See Gale Literary Sources
 search tips

Available everywhere with a library card
History, Science, Literature, and other core subjects are covered in millions of periodical and newspaper articles, primary source entries, multimedia records, and other materials.  

T

Tax Forms & Publications - Federal Recommended Web Resources
Tax forms and publications from the IRS website.  

Tax Forms & Publications - State Recommended Web Resources
California tax forms and publications.  

Today's Science
Full-text articles with photos and graphics.  search tips

Travel eBooks
Travel eBooks grouped by region on a virtual bookshelf.

Available everywhere with a library card
Advertising free online resources available to help students find scholarships and other forms of financial aid to help pay for a college education. TFS provides students with college admissions information, a career personality test, and detailed career information.  

Available everywhere with a library card
An online collection of animated, talking picture books.

Twayne's Authors Online Series
Includes in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world within the context of the time period in which they lived. See Gale Literary Sources  search tips

U

U.S. History In Context Available everywhere with a library card
Access to media-rich content with full-text periodical articles and trusted primary and secondary sources covering the most-studied events, issues and current information related to U.S. History.

W

World Book Early World of Learning Available everywhere with a library card
A teaching tool for teachers or parents of preschoolers and children in the early elementary grades. The Early World of Learning uses narrated stories with word-by-word highlighting, interactive games, interactive reference material for beginners, and more to help young learners build vocabulary, comprehension, phonics, and reading fluency.  tutorial

World Book Discover Available everywhere with a library card
Offers reference articles, text-to-speech capabilities, learning and life skills activities, research tools, multimedia, and interactive video. This resource is designed for middle to high school english learners.  tutorial

World Book Online Reference Center Available everywhere with a library card
All articles from the current 22-volume edition of the World Book Encyclopedia, including World Book Kids, World Book Student, World Book Advanced, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos. tutorial

World Book InfoFinder Available everywhere with a library card
Designed to meet research needs of upper-elementary and middle school aged students. In addition to the complete World Book Encyclopedia, it also offers learning resources for educators, research tools and ideas for science projects.  tutorial

Available everywhere with a library card
Dictionary, quick facts, atlas, activities, encyclopedia articles for elementary school children.  search tips

Available everywhere with a library card
Provides in-depth analysis, full-text periodical articles, reference works, primary documents, historical maps, atlases, video and audio selections; covering over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present.

Z

Zinio Available everywhere with a library card
See RBdigital Magazines.